Doreen Mingo: One of Iowa's 100 Great Nurses

May 4, 2014

alt Waterloo, IA—Allen College faculty member Doreen Mingo was recognized on May 2 as one of Iowa’s 100 Great Nurses.  The event, held at the Iowa Events Center in Des Moines, marked the tenth anniversary of the recognition ceremony.  To date, 1000 Iowa nurses have been honored for their concern for humanity, contribution to nursing, leadership and mentoring.  Nurses from 97 of Iowa’s 99 counties have been recognized over the past decade.

Professor Mingo earned an associate degree in nursing from Hawkeye Community College, a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Mount Mercy College, and a master’s degree in nursing from the University of Nebraska Medical Center.  She is a certified nurse educator and teaches undergraduate nursing courses.  Professor Mingo also leads the College’s Office of Diversity Services and is the director of a federal Nursing Workforce Diversity grant.

The 100 Great Iowa Nurses is a nonprofit program that honors great nurses statewide and funds a scholarship program to support Iowa nurse education.  The 100 nurses, nominated by colleagues, patients, doctors, friends and family members, were chosen by a review panel of nursing professionals, previous honorees and representatives from the University of Iowa College of Nursing, the Iowa Nurses Association, the Iowa Nurses Foundation and the Iowa Hospital Association.  The 100 nurses work in many sectors of health care in Iowa, including hospitals, long-term care facilities, schools, higher education and offices.

Professor Mingo joins the ranks of fourteen other Allen College faculty members who have been honored as a “Great Nurse,” including Barb Seible, Darlene Shipp, Mavis TeSlaa, Dr. Jerry Durham, Dr. Anna Weepie, Dr. Kendra Williams-Perez, Dr. Jane Hasek,  Dr. Ruselle DeBonis, Dr. Diane Young, Dr. Nancy Kramer, Mary Brown, Patricia Buls, Jacque Leutzinger, and Peg Broadie.

SEO Iowa